Tags

,

JISHOU, HUNAN — By that headline, I mean comment spam, not the tinned meat. For weeks now, spam comments to one particular post I wrote in 2007 have been sneaking past my anti-spam filters. Every day, I have to manually delete at least two or three.

The comments are typically completely generic, complimenting the post or the blog in general, promising the writer will follow me, or imitate me, and by the way, mentioning some product or service the commenter is hawking. Some are more subtle, and make no product/service references, but the associated emails and URLs tip their hands. Here’s one spambot example, for some payday service:

I was recommended this blog through my cousin. I’m not sure whether this submit is written by way of him as no one else realize such targeted about my problem. You are amazing! Thank you!

And it’s just that one post. All I can guess is someone has linked to it on some spamifying service, and it’s now gone viral. Ironically, the post is about my site being hacked by a spammer.

As an experiment, I will either change the post’s headline (and thus its link) or remove it entirely in a few days.

